Cabinet approves minimum traffic fine of Rs. 25, 000

The Cabinet of Ministers today approved the revised proposal by Transport and Civil Aviation Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva to increase the fine on several traffic offenses.

Fines on traffic offenses which will increase to Rs. 25,000 are the following:

  • Driving without a valid driving license.
  • Deploying persons without driving license in services
  • Driving under the influence liquor and drugs
  • Access of vehicle in to a railway road unsafely
  • Driving a vehicle without a valid insurance cover

Revised fine charges of other traffic offenses:

  • Speeding

(Spot fines, according to the percentage of over speeding as followers)

Up to 20% – Rs. 3,000

20% – 30% – Rs. 5,000

30% – 50% – Rs. 10,000

Beyond 50% – Rs. 15,000

  • Overtaking from left side – Rs. 2,000
  • Driving with disregard to other people – 10,000
  • Reckless driving – Rs. 10,000
  • Driving by under-age persons from Rs. 5,000 to Rs. 30,000
  • A minimum fine of Rs. 2,500 for offences not stated in Motor Traffic Act.

Furthermore Cabinet Ministers approved to implement the following proposals

  • Impose a spot fine of Rs. 2,000 for use of Mobile phones while driving
  • To implement the marking process for drivers urgently
  • Installation of CCTV Cameras in places with recurrent accidence for taking informationfor punishing offenders
  • Prompt implementation of the proposal touse electronic payment method to charge spot fines
  • Properly demonstrate speed limit boards in highways and expressways
  • Implement a combined time table or a suitable arrangement on running of SLTB andprivate busses.
  • Establishment of regulatory institutions for regulation of three-wheelers and Schooltransport Vehicles.
  • Establishment of an efficient public transport services.
  • Use of high-tech tools to minimize irregularities of some law enforcing officers and toimprove transparency of law enforcement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

si_LKසිංහල en_USEnglish
Check Also
Ready to accept any MP who quits government: Wimal Weerawansa
We are ready to accept any MP who would leave the Government, National Freedom Front ...