UPFA Writes To Speaker Requesting To Refrain From Publishing Hansard Records Referring To NCM Against MR, Electronic Vote

Local Politics

A group of UPFA MPs have written to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya asking him to refrain from publishing Hansard records from Nov. 14, 15, 16, 19, 21, 23 parliamentary sessions, which refer to the no-confidence motion against Mahinda Rajapaksa and the vote on appointing members to the Committee of Selections. 

The UPFA MPs have requested the Speaker to refrain publishing Hansard records of the aforementioned dates on the grounds that Parliamentary proceedings did not take place according to Standing Orders and Parliamentary traditions. 

Nine Parliamentarians of the UPFA, including Dinesh Gunawardena, S.B. Dissanayake, Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila, Chamal Rajapaksa, Mahinda Amaraweera and Vasudewa Nanayakkara, have signed the letter. 

In the letter, the party has stated that they are not in a position to accept the already published Hansards from Nov. 14, 15, 16, 19, 21, 23 sessions.

The letter has been sent to the Speaker after the UPFA publicly declared that they will not consider Karu Jayasuriya the Speaker of Parliament. The UPFA also said the party would boycott Parliamentary sessions in [rptest of the Speaker’s ‘partial conduct’. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

si_LKසිංහල en_USEnglish
Check Also
Controversy Over UPFA MPs Who Boycott Parliament, But Eat From Parliament Cafeteria At Subsidise Rates: UNP Raises Questions
UNP Parliamentarian Ajith Mannapperuma alleged that some UPFA Parliamentarians who did not attend Parliamentary sessions ...